mobile community
  mobile e-mail
  mobile directory
   
  your mobile solution
  WAP solutions
  J2ME solutions
  Wayfinder Outdoor
  SMS solutions
  mobile platform
   
   
   

Wayfinder Outdoor turns a mobile phone into a personal copilot on hiking trails or in mountainous regions. Hikers, mountain bikers, runners and other recreational athletes can access maps of trails on their cell phones, plan walking-tours of their own at home or follow predetermined hiking trails.

Print
Contact
   
   

 
 
main menu
record route
tour data
     
  During the hike, Wayfinder Outdoor records the walking-tour via GPS and collects detailed statistical data on altitude difference, covered distance, energy consumption, etc. At the push of a button, the generated report, which can be used to monitor one's degree of fitness, is sent via e-mail.
  Statistics
 
  The walking-tour itself can be repeated at any time or viewed on a computer (e.g. with Google Earth) via GPX standard.      
  Wayfinder Outdoor can be used on a variety of java-enabled cell phones by Sony Ericsson and Nokia. The application works with Bluetooth GPS-receivers as well as mobile phones with integrated GPS.  

works with bluetooth GPS-receivers

 
  Austrian-Swedish project cooperation
Wayfinder Outdoor was jointly developed by four partners, all of whom are among the best in their respective field of activity: Calista, Austria's specialist for mobile J2ME applications and responsible for the software development of Wayfinder Outdoor, Freytag & Berndt, Austria's leading supplier of maps of hiking trails, Wayfinder, Sweden's number one supplier of GPS services and mobilkom austria, Austria's biggest mobile network operator.
   
  Innovation demands flexibility
As it turned out, the development of Wayfinder Outdoor, which started in April 2006, was a step into uncharted territories. Similar products could merely provide inspiration. For this reason, end-users were involved at an early stage of development with the help of friendly customer tests. As a consequence, Wayfinder Outdoor needed to be changed dramatically several times during development in order to meet the different requirements of the target group. This form of innovation management demands a high degree of flexibility during software development. No problem for Calista! After all, the common goal is to achieve the best result even if that requires extra work sometimes.
  flexiblity in software development  
  Technical challenges
Mobile phones have small displays. Subsequently, all maps of trails were edited accordingly to ensure maximum readability. Mobile networks are fallible, especially in mountainous regions. As a consequence, the application was devised to remain fully functional at all times even in areas without network coverage.

  small displays
 
  Furthermore, a mobile application like Wayfinder Outdoor needs to be easy to handle for everyone. However, the target group is made up of several small groups, all of which have different requirements. Hikers, runners, mountain bikers and drivers of snowmobiles (our target group from the far north) need different features. Due to numerous improvements, Wayfinder Outdoor continued to grow which in turn called for dramatic user interface changes in order to achieve the best result in terms of usability.

  easy usage  
  Apart from ease of usage, performance is crucial. Each tenth of a second was scrutinized by the testers. There were no excuses even though map data is loaded via UMTS in the background while GPS data is received and approximately 15 statistical parameters are calculated at the same time.   performance  
  Field day for Calista
The functionality of Wayfinder Outdoor was thoroughly tested by Calista during development. In reality, this meant hiking, hiking and hiking. The longest test hike lasted 7 hours and was completed by employee Oliver Koppensteiner in the summer of 2007. Apart from that, other hiking aficionados at Calista went on various walking-tours, at the end of which they gave valuable feedback.
  test walking-tours  
  Launch at A1
Wayfinder Outdoor was integrated into the existing “A1 Navi Package” of mobilkom austria Ltd., Austria’s biggest mobile network operator.
  Wayfinder Outdoor
for A1 customers
© 1999- Calista
Contact | Legal notice

mobile community
  mobile e-mail
  mobile directory
   
  your mobile solution
  WAP solutions
  J2ME solutions
  Wayfinder Outdoor
  SMS solutions
  mobile platform
   
   
   

Mit Wayfinder Outdoor fungiert das Handy nun abseits der Straße als persönlicher Copilot, egal ob auf Wanderwegen oder in Bergregionen. Wanderer, Mountainbiker, Läufer und andere Freizeitsportler können direkt am Handy auf Wanderkarten zugreifen, eigene Touren von zu Hause aus planen oder vorgegebenen Freizeit- und Wanderwegen folgen.

Drucken
Kontakt
   
   

 
 
Hauptmenü
Route aufzeichnen
Tourdaten
     
  Während der Wanderung zeichnet Wayfinder Outdoor die Tour mit präziser GPS-Ortung auf und ermittelt detaillierte Statistikdaten zur Kontrolle der körperlichen Fitness wie zum Beispiel Höhenmessung, zurückgelegte Strecke, Kalorienverbrauch. Diese können auf Knopfdruck als E-Mailreport verschickt werden.
  Statistikdaten
 
  Die Tour selbst kann zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt jederzeit wiederholt oder mittels GPX Standard am PC (z.B. mit Google Earth) angesehen werden.      
  Die Lösung ist kompatibel mit einer Vielzahl von javafähigen Handys der Hersteller Sony Ericsson und Nokia und unterstützt selbstverständlich neben Bluetooth-GPS-Empfängern aktuelle Handys mit integriertem GPS.  

auch mit Bluetooth
GPS-Empfänger

 
  Österreichisch-schwedische Projektkooperation
Entwickelt wurde Wayfinder Outdoor als gemeinsames Projekt mit vier Partnern: Calista, Österreichs Spezialist für mobile J2ME Anwendungen und betraut mit der Softwareentwicklung von Wayfinder Outdoor, Freytag & Berndt, Österreichs führender Anbieter von Freizeit- und Wanderkarten, Wayfinder, Schwedens Anbieter für GPS-Navigationsservices und mobilkom austria, führender Mobilfunkbetreiber in Österreich.
   
  Innovationsmanagement erfordert Flexibilität
Bei der Entwicklung von Wayfinder Outdoor, die im April 2006 startete, konnten sich die Projektpartner zwar von ähnlichen Produkten inspirieren lassen, schlussendlich betrat man mit der GPS-Lösung für querfeldein Navigation jedoch Neuland. Aus diesem Grund wurden bereits zu einem frühen Zeitpunkt Endkunden mit Hilfe von Friendly Customer Tests in den Entwicklungsprozess miteinbezogen. Für die Projektarbeit bedeutete dies, dass die am Ende marktreife Anwendung in mehreren Iterationsphasen deutlich verändert werden musste um den unterschiedlichen Bedürfnissen der Zielgruppe gerecht zu werden. Diese Form von Innovationsmanagement erforderte große Flexibilität bei der Softwareentwicklung. Für Calista kein Problem denn schließlich will man gemeinsam das Beste erreichen.
  Flexibilität bei der Softwareentwicklung  
  Fachliche Herausforderungen
Handys haben kleine Displays. Das Kartenmaterial musste also so aufbereitet werden, dass es auch am Handy gut lesbar ist. Mobilfunknetze sind nicht unfehlbar sondern können, besonders in Bergregionen, ausfallen. Die komplette Anwendung musste also so ausgelegt werden, dass Funklöcher keinen Einfluss auf die Funktionstüchtigkeit nehmen.

  kleine Handydisplays
 
  Weiters kommt der einfachen Bedienung einer solchen Anwendung eine große Bedeutung zu. Die Zielgruppe teilt sich in mehrere kleine Teilgruppen mit ganz unterschiedlichen Bedürfnissen. Wanderer, Läufer, Mountainbiker und Schneemobilfahrer, unsere Hauptzielgruppe im hohen Norden, benötigen verschiedene Features. Trotzdem muss die Anwendung einfach zu bedienen sein. Durch zahlreiche Verbesserungen wuchs die Applikation und die Bedienungslogik wurde mehrmals radikal geändert um das beste Ergebnis zu erzielen.

  einfache Bedienung  
  Neben der Einfachheit ist auch die Geschwindigkeit wichtig. Jede Zehntelsekunde Verzögerung wurde von den Teilnehmern der Friendly Customer Tests kritisch angemerkt. Obwohl im Hintergrund Kartendaten über UMTS geladen werden, die GPS Daten parallel empfangen und ca. 15 Statistikparameter sekundengenau ermittelt werden, gab es kein Pardon in Sachen Geschwindigkeit.   Geschwindigkeit  
  Wandertag bei Calista
Die Funktionalität von Wayfinder Outdoor wurde während der Entwicklung von Calista gründlich auf die Probe gestellt: es wurde gewandert! Die längste Testwanderung führte Mitarbeiter Oliver Koppensteiner im Sommer 2007 7 Stunden lang durch den Wienerwald. Daneben haben andere wanderfreudige Mitarbeiter von Calista zahlreiche Ausflüge, zum Beispiel zum Schneeberg, unternommen und immer wieder wertvolles Feedback zur Applikation geliefert.
  Testwanderungen  
  Wayfinder Outdoor bei A1
Wayfinder Outdoor gehört zu den A1 Navi-Lösungen der mobilkom austria, Österreichs größtem Mobilfunkanbieter, und kann mit den A1 Navi Packages verwendet werden.
  Wayfinder Outdoor
bei A1
© 1999- Calista
Kontakt | Impressum | Jobs